EDUC 638 Introduction

Hello, everyone! My name is Penny Trupe and this is my introduction post for EDUC 638 at Liberty University. I currently live in Bedford, Virginia on a very small homestead – we have about an acre of land. My husband and I have been married for almost 14 years We have three children who are 10, 8, and 5 years old. We also have 2 cats, 8 full grown hens, 4 baby chicks, and 2 baby turkeys right now. We have plans to purchase some land nearby and expand our homestead with pigs and goats and, of course, garden space. We also have about 15 beehives as of right now. I really enjoy working with animals and my husband really enjoys gardening, so we make a good team.

I have homeschooled all three of my children for almost their entire education and I teach elementary science and host a Lego club at our local homeschool co-op. Sometimes, I also work as a database administrator or a data integration specialist, but that’s just on a contract basis. I have a background in technology and really enjoy exploring new technologies and helping others to understand how to use them. In my spare time, I really enjoy baking, reading, taking walks, doing crafts. I like to sew, knit, crochet, and I also do some vinyl and paper crafting as well. I also really enjoy playing board games with my kids.

Right now, I am working on completing my Master of Education in Higher Education with a focus on Educational Leadership. After this semester is completed, I need five more classes before my degree is complete. I am hoping to finish by the end of the Fall 2020, but earlier would be better. When I’ve finished, I’d like to pursue a career as a teacher in higher education and I may pursue a higher degree as well. I’ve been looking into getting my Doctorate in Higher Education. We’ll just kind of see what the future holds right now.

I really enjoy teaching, not just my own kids, but also at the co-op. And I’m really looking forward to diving into educational technologies and their uses. I have background with the administrative side of Blackboard and a few homeschool specific technologies as well. I am excited to learn more about the educational tools that are available. And I am looking forward to meeting the rest of my classmates!

2 thoughts on “EDUC 638 Introduction

  1. Penny,
    Wow! It seems that you have a very busy life between your family and your animals! I have always wanted to have chickens, but I live in a condo environment so that is not possible. I also would like to be able to homeschool my children when I have them. I think it is a great thing to do if a family has the time and resources. Would you continue to homeschool if you took a job as a teacher elsewhere?

    Like

  2. Penny,
    Your post is so inspiring to me. My family and I also live in the country. I have three small children and some chickens, too! It is very nice to be where we are, especially in times like these. I am finally getting a taste of “homeschool” as I am teaching my school-aged children. I will say that it is a learning process, but I, too am grateful for the opportunity. I look forward to learning with you and hope to get the chance to collaborate. Hope this finds you well!

    Samantha Bensfield

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s